School Council

The Mount Alexander College School Council has responsibility for the general educational policy of the school within Ministerial guidelines. The School Council comprises parents, teachers and community members and is tasked with making decisions related to curriculum, finance, student welfare, facilities and community engagement of the school.

Councillors are elected for a two-year period, with elections usually completed by the end of March for the period ahead. All parents and/or guardians of students enrolled at the school, and teachers working at the school are eligible to vote (if an election is required), and may serve on subcommittees of the council. The council meets on a monthly basis.

The current council will stand for the period March 2019 – March 2020.

Laura Sandham (Business Manager and Minutes Secretary)

Council Members

DET members:
Dani Angelico (Executive Officer), Meg Rawlins, Adam Cribbes

Parent members:
Richard Frazer, Matt Hammond, Jo-zanne Owen, Hadia Komba, Linda Crisco

Community member:

Rebecca Smith

Student members:

Towheed Altahir, Ella Klassen (School Captain),

Meeting Dates for 2019

The dates for 2019 are:

  • 27 August
  • 29 October
  • 26 November

Council Documents

The Mount Alexander College reports and plans are approved and ratified by the School Council. The council is the legally constituted body that oversees and is responsible for the school’s policies, finances and strategic plans.


The subcommittees meet once a month and report to the School Council. The subcommittees are made up of staff and parents. It is a great opportunity for parents to get involved with some of the decision making at the school, and for any parents who have any expertise in these area to be able to share that with the school in a constructive way.

The current subcommittees are:

  • Finance
  • Education
  • Grounds and buildings

Contact the General Office if you would like to join any of the subcommittees. New members are always welcome.